Do You Really Need A Covering Letter?

Recently, I’ve had a number of clients ask me to review their covering letters.  I helped them align their covering letters directly to the job description so they highlight the key skills, qualifications and competencies that matter most to the hiring organization. 

But, I wouldn’t get too hung up in doing covering letters.  To tell you the truth, as an executive search consultant, I never read covering letters.  I wanted to see the “meat”.  The real meat is in your resume not the covering letter. 

In fact as a job candidate a few years ago, I never sent covering letters.  I just responded with my resume and I still landed interviews.

So my advice is if you want to do it, do it right.  Align your letter directly to the hiring organization’s stated needs.  Make it about them, not about you.

Heather

There are no comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

